HomeIPLList Of 8 Major IPL Records RCB Holds Despite Not Winning A...

List Of 8 Major IPL Records RCB Holds Despite Not Winning A Trophy

The list of eight major IPL records held by RCB has been given below.

Royal Challengers Bangalore has several records to its name despite not winning a single trophy since the inception of the Indian Premier League. 15 years of the cash-rich league have passed and RCB has not won a single title even after playing three finals.

In the recent IPL season (2022), RCB broke their jinx of getting eliminated in the Eliminator for the past couple of years but unfortunately failed to win reach the final as they lost the Qualifier 2 match against Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets. Meanwhile, there are several IPL records RCB still holds even after not winning a single season.

8 Major IPL Records Held By RCB

1. Most centuries by a team in IPL – 15

Royal Challengers Bangalore. (Photo Source: IPL)

With 15 centuries in 15 seasons, RCB holds the record for most centuries by a team in IPL. RCB has achieved the feat with the help of Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli who has majorly contributed to the team with 6 and 5 individual centuries for the franchise respectively. The second on the list is Rajasthan Royals with 13 centuries followed by Punjab Kings (13), Delhi Capitals (10), and Chennai Super Kings (9). RCB has also the record for the most number of centuries in a single IPL season. In 2016, with help of Virat Kohli’s 4 centuries and one by AB de Villiers, RCB scored a total of 5 centuries.

IPL 2022: List Of Broken Records

2. Highest team score in IPL – 263/5

Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle. (Photo Source: IPL)

Royal Challengers Bangalore smashed a gigantic total of 263 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 2013 against Pune Warriors India. With the stormy century of Chris Gayle, RCB broke the old record of 246/5 created by CSK against Rajasthan Royals in 2010. Thereafter, the bowling unit of Bangalore restricted PWI to just 133/9 in 20 overs and won the match by a huge margin of 130 runs.

In the innings, Bangalore smashed 21 sixes which is the most by a team in an inning. The franchise has also scored 20 sixes in an inning, scoring their second-highest total of 248/3 in the match against Gujarat Lions in the 2016 IPL season. For other franchises, this is one of the toughest IPL records to break, held by RCB in the history of the tournament.

3. Most sixes in an IPL match by a player – 17

Chri Gayle. (Photo Source: IPL)

The West Indian batter Chris Gayle holds the record for most sixes in an IPL match by a player. Playing for RCB, he smashed 17 sixes in a single inning against PWI in the 2013 IPL edition. Gayle surpassed Brendon McCullums’ 13 sixes which he scored in the first match of the inaugural season of IPL.

Also Checkout: The Longest Six In Cricket History Ever

The left-hand opener has also smashed the highest number of sixes two more times in a single inning of an IPL match. In 2012, he hammered Delhi for 13 sixes, and Punjab for 12 sixes in 2015.

4. Most sixes in an IPL season by a player – 59

Chri Gayle. (Photo Source: IPL)

Chris Gayle also rules this record as he smashed 59 sixes in a single IPL season. 2012 was the year when the world witnessed his destructive abilities, however, he blasted the cricket community with a bang in 2011 when he smashed 44 sixes in the season. After being unsold to the orange cap holder in 2011, Gayle scored a total of 608 runs and show his six-hitting abilities in front of the world.

With 59 sixes in 2012, he holds the record for most sixes in an IPL season by a player. He has won the ‘most sixes in an IPL season award’ four times in his IPL career in the year 2011 (44), 2012 (59), 2013 (51), and 2015 (38). The only batsman same close to him was Andre Russell who smashed 52 sixes in the 2019 IPL season.

5. Highest run partnership in IPL history – 229

AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli, RCB. (Photo Source: IPL)

AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli hold the record for the highest-run partnership in IPL history. In 2016, after the early wicket of Chris Gayle, they both added a 229 runs partnership off just 97 balls against Gujarat Lions and goes on to score their individual centuries. Kohli was dismissed on the second last ball of the innings after scoring 109 runs in 55 balls while de Villiers smashed an unbeaten 129-run knock in just 52 deliveries with the help of 12 sixes and 10 fours.

The pair broke their old record of 215* run partnership which they created against Mumbai Indians in 2015 where AB and Kohli scored 133* and 82* respectively.

6. Highest individual score for a team in IPL – 175*

Chris Gayle 175* vs PWI. (Photo Source: IPL)

The unbeaten 175-run knock played by the ‘Universe Boss‘ is the most destructive inning ever in the history of IPL. Against Pune Warriors India in 2013, Chris Gayle broke the 158* runs record of Brendon McCullum after smashing the highest individual score of 175* in just 66 balls at an unbelievable strike rate of 265.15 including 17 sixes and 13 fours. This is one of the toughest records to break for any batter as the batter will need consistent hitting and luck for 20 overs while batting.

Also Checkout: Highest Scores In IPL 2022 By An Individual Innings

7. Most runs in an IPL season by a batsman – 973

Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: IPL)

Virat ‘THE RUN MACHINE‘ Kohli holds the record for the most runs in an IPL season by a batsman. In 2016, he smashed the highest 973 runs with the help of 4 centuries and 7 half-centuries at an average of 81.08 and a strike rate of 152.03. The record is so tough to break that the batter like Jos Buttler couldn’t even cross the 900-run mark even after scoring 4 centuries in the IPL 2022 season. While Kohli took just 16 matches to create that milestone, Buttler played 17 matches and scored just 863 runs.

With scoring almost 1000 runs in a single IPL season, Kohli claims one of the toughest records to his name. Kohli is also the highest run-scorer in the history of IPL with more than 6400 runs including 5 centuries.

Also Checkout: List Of Orange Cap winners In IPL From 2008-2022

8. Most matches for a franchise in IPL – 224

Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: IPL)

Virat Kohli also holds the record of playing the most number of matches for a single franchise in IPL. After playing for 15 years for a single IPL team, Kohli tops the list with 224 matches for Royal Challengers Bangalore. The second on the list is MS Dhoni with 203 matches for CSK followed by Kieron Pollard (188) and Rohit Sharma (181).

Read More: IPL News | Latest News | International News | Womens’ Cricket

Watch: Cricket Videos

Abhishek Sinha
Abhishek Sinhahttps://bharatside.com/
→ Entrepreneur → Manager at KheloGuys → Creative → Hardworking


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read