HomeCricket NewsIPL 2022 Final RR vs GT: Gujarat Titans Won IPL In Their...

IPL 2022 Final RR vs GT: Gujarat Titans Won IPL In Their Debut Season

IPL 2022 Final RR vs GT: The final of the fifteenth edition of the Indian Premier League played between RR and GT was won by the newcomer Gujarat Titans.

After winning the Qualifier 1 against Rajasthan on Tuesday, May 24, Gujarat became the first team to reach the IPL final in their debut season. Meanwhile, Rajasthan defeated Royal Challange Bangalore in the Qualifier 2 to reach their second-ever IPL final since the inception of the league.

RCB posted an Emotional Tweet for Shane Warne after losing Qualifier 2

GT-in-IPL- 2022-Final
Photo Source: BCCI/IPL

This exciting tournament came to an end on Sunday 29th May after running for 2 months. The final match was held in the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad which is the home ground of Gujarat Titans.

Virat Kohli Trolled By Fans On Twitter

IPL 2022 Final RR vs GT: Match Summary

Photo Source: BCCI/IPL

After winning the toss, Rajasthan captain Sanju Samson decided to bat first. The start was not that good for them, RR lost the first wicket in the form of Yashasvi Jaiswal for 31 runs in the last ball of the fourth over. The Gujarat bowlers, bowling at a good line length, restricted the best batsman of the season, Jos Buttler, and did not give him a chance to score runs. The Rajasthan batsmen were seen struggling in front of the bowling of Gujarat and never appeared in a position of dominance during their batting. Due to the fall of wickets at regular intervals, Rajasthan managed to score only 130 runs for the loss of nine wickets.

Of all the teams I played for, RCB has the best fan base – Dinesh Karthik

Lockie Ferguson bowled the fastest ball in the history of IPL

Photo Source: BCCI/IPL

Gujarat Titans speedster Lockie Ferguson bowled the fastest ball in the IPL 2022 final RR vs GT match. He broke the record recently made by the Indian speedster Umran Malik who bowled a 157Kmph delivery against Chennai Super Kings in the match played between SRH and CSK. Ferguson broke Maliks’ record by bowling a 157.3Kpmh sizzling yorker to Rajasthan Royals opener Jos Buttler.

SRH vs CSK: Umran Malik Bowled The Fastest IPL 2022 Delivery

Hardik Pandya broke the backbone of Rajasthan

Photo Source: BCCI/IPL

For Gujarat, their captain Hardik Pandya performed extremely well with the ball and took three important wickets of Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, and Shimron Hetmyer. While Jos Buttler with his 39 runs in 35 balls was the highest run-scorer for Rajasthan.

Shubhman, Hardik, and Miller helped GT cross the winning line

After bowling very well, their openers failed to give GT a comfortable start and batsman Wriddhiman Saha was dismissed by the famous Krishna on the team score of just 9 runs. Later, wicket-keeper batsman Matthew Wade was dismissed by Trent Boult after a couple of overs, giving Gujarat another blow.

Then Hardik Pandya came to the crease and together with Subhaman Gill took charge of the innings and put on 53 runs for the third wicket before being dismissed. Pandya scored 34 runs in 30 balls including 3 fours and a six. Yuzvendra Chahal got Pandaya out on a typical leg-spin in the hands of Yashasvi Jaiswal at slip.

Photo Source: BCCI/IPL

Later on, David Miller smashed a 19-ball 32 runs with 3 fours and a maximum and put the pressure back on Rajasthan Royals. Shubhman Gill scored the highest 45 runs in 43 balls for Gujarat Titans and also hit the winning six on the first ball of the 18th over.

Trent Boult was the most successful and economical bowler for RR, taking 1/14 in 4 overs including a maiden. Yuzvendra Chahal also bowled well and took a wicket fr 20 runs in his 4 overs.

RCB vs RR Qualifier 2: Best Top Memes After Bangalore Defeat

RR vs GT: Head to Head in IPL 202

Before the final match of the season played between both teams, they faced each other 2 times during the season. First time they played against each other in the league matches where GT defeated RR by 37 runs and the second time in the Qualifier 1 where GT again won by 7 wickets.

Highest run-scorer for both the teams

Jos Buttler (RR)David Miller (GT)
High Score11694*
Strike Rate149.05142.72
Half Centuries42

Buttler Leading All Major Awards Of IPL 2022

Highest wicket-taker for both the teams

Yuzvendra Chahal (RR)Rashid Khan (GT)

Check Out: Winning Prize Of IPL 2022

• Admin • Website Designer • Content Writer • Search Engine Optimizer


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read